Surprising Facts About Kids and Their Smartphones

I’m sure you’ve heard your parents tell you about how they only had a couple TV channels growing up, or how they actually had to have conversations with their friends over the phone. I personally didn’t get my first cellphone until 6th grade. The only time I watched TV was when I came home from school for about an hour, and I actually called my friends to come hang out over the phone (that was until I got my first smartphone). So what are surveys saying about teens in this era and their smartphones?

CBS News states that two-thirds of teens carry their phones around with them at all times. Maybe before 2006 this would have shocked me, but since it seems irregular to not have an iPhone or Android, the result of that survey seems fair. Another study done by Common Sense Media shows that tweens spend about 6 hours on “entertainment media,” while teens spend up to 9 a day. On top of that, sixty percent of teens say they text while doing homework, with two-thirds of these teens saying that it doesn’t effect their quality of work. Dr. Michael Rich of the Center of Media and Child Health said multitasking does not exist. Does this mean that smartphones are preventing teens from performing at their full potential?

Nevertheless, smartphones and media have no intention in going away. It is as if they are a necessity for today’s society. In order to stay up to date with friends and news, having a smartphone makes these things very simple, and teens all over the country are taking advantage of that.

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/common-sense-media-report-reveals-new-facts-about-kids-use-of-technology-social-media/

2 thoughts on “Surprising Facts About Kids and Their Smartphones

  1. I can relate to this because I remember getting my first flip phone in 6th grade and rarely using it. Kids these days are glued to their phone at a very young age. I expect this pattern to continue as times goes on due to consistent advances in technology. In 20 years kids social skills will suffer dramatically because they are so used to this computer mediated communication.

    Like

  2. I agree with Ricky! I got my first phone in 5th grade and became obsessed with it– of course then it was more so a toy rather than a communication device (unless I was calling or texting my parents), whereas now I feel like kids are getting more and more reliant on their smartphones and other tech devices!

    Like

Leave a Reply

