‘Call of Duty’ Live Tweets A Fake Terrorist Attack

I’m all for joking around and having a good time on social media even when my view of a good time can be seen as distasteful or offensive. Personally, I just do not care. You either laugh alongside me or keep scrolling and go about your day! However, even before I actually do post content that may be seen as insensitive I at least think things through before I go through with it, which is clearly something Call of Duty‘s creators did not take the time to do. On September 29th, Call of Duty posted a series of tweets linked to a terrorist attack set in Singapore that was completely made up to help spread awareness for their next title, Call of Duty: Black Ops III. Below are the first entries from this series of tweets.

CoDTweet1CoDTweet2

Now, imagine for a moment that you weren’t entirely certain that Call of Duty was actually a video game franchise and this tweet popped up on your feed. Would you not be even slightly concerned? The Twitter page is verified, there is an incredibly high military focus, and some of the tweets were even given images which, though computer animated, seem to be realistic.

CoDTweet4CoDTweet3

To the average person who doesn’t have much of a gaming background, this could be viewed as serious news from a reliable source that just-so happened to hear about it before everyone else. But, that’s just how I see it. Followers of the actual page have also chimed in, sharing their thoughts about the ads in both positive and negative tones.

CoDTweet5 CoDTweet6 CoDTweet7CoDTweet8

What do you think? Was this a poor approach at an ad campaign, or do you support their decision?

7 thoughts on “‘Call of Duty’ Live Tweets A Fake Terrorist Attack

  1. This is a great topic to bring up. I think that it is distasteful and wrong considering people’s families are being killed in attacks like these everyday. I believe that this game already rubs certain people the wrong way so this social media out burst is just giving people a reason to bash them. Although even bad comments are publicity.

    Like

  2. I am a big fan of Call of duty and I’m really looking forward to Black ops 3. Although, I have never took into consideration, what people who don’t know anything about call of duty or even that it’s a video game. It’s interesting to think that they wouldn’t think about the various people on social media not knowing about their video games.

    I feel like this was a bad move they made in their part. I would have reconsidered posting like this, even though Call of Duty is a very well known video game, I feel like it wasn’t a smart decision.

    Like

  3. This is a really important topic to have addressed, Nate. It’s a good example of a completely tone-deaf use of social media for marketing, and I would be really surprised if there is not some sort of blow-back on the company about it.

    Like

  4. Wow although that is very risky and I definitely would never recommend doing this, it’s actually a really creative idea. However, I feel they should’ve made it clear that it wasn’t real, or posted some disclaimers or something! Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s terrible that they did that and I would never do something like that. But I think the level of interactivity was a score. If they channeled it a better way, the results could have been better.

    Like

  5. This truly saddens me as a lover of video games. I haven’t been completely involved in playing this particular game as being more of a fan of Bethesda games such as the FallOut series, but this campaign takes things too far. Most games have a different theme that people would recognize of fantasy and not realistic, but this level of realism is coming at a very bad time with events such as Syria and Isis. This doesn’t help Call of Duty when they’ve been criticized in the past like games similar to it on their levels of war violence and realistic gun scenarios. I’ve seen many game companies create fantastic advertising without stepping over lines, Call of Duty may need to learn from them from now on

    Like

  6. I really think it’s sad that social media, a thing so powerful and that could be used for such positive and productive purposes, is used for nonsense like this by some people. As Dr. Rosenberry said, this is absolutely an important topic to address. The use of social media for threats, fake or not, is nothing to joke about. Reaching that many people with a single message can be dangerous. You would think people would conduct themselves in a more professional manner.

    Like

  7. I have always been a big fan of Call of Duty over the years but this incident cannot go unnoticed. With everything that happens in today’s society regarding random terrorist acts of violence, it is unacceptable to use Twitter to falsely report that their has been a terrorist attack. I expect much more from such a distinguished and well respected brand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

