Facebook’s New Dislike Button? Dislike.

“People have asked about the ‘Dislike’ button for many years … and today [September 15, 2015] is a special day, because today is the day that I actually get to say we are working on it and are very close to shipping a test of it,” – Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook CEO

Facebook Dislike Button

As someone who’s been logging into Facebook every single day since September 2007, which is both scary and shameful to admit, the news of a ‘dislike button’ finally becoming reality has me feeling… weird. I mean sure, it’s a fantastic story to cover on the news [or in class blogs, wink wink] thanks to the years of anticipation leading up to it, but after years of wanting a dislike button and not getting one, I’ve been able to think about why there wasn’t a dislike button in the first place. Social media in general isn’t exactly the most stable place to hang out or share your thoughts, and a lot of things are interpreted incorrectly; a reasonable conversation or even gesture can be seen as a threat, compliments are seen as insults and every other thing that you post is offensive to someone out there looking at your stuff. Throwing a dislike button into the mix, in my opinion, would just complicated things.

Though, after reading up on this announcement via The Verge, I thought that my opinions may have been swayed after hearing [well, reading] what Zuckerberg had to say about how they are intended to work. “We don’t want to turn Facebook into a forum where people are voting up or down on people’s posts,” Zuckerberg said. “That doesn’t seem like the kind of community that we want to create: you don’t want to go through the process of sharing some moment that was important to you in your day and have someone downvote it.” — It’s also been said that Zuckerberg is aiming for the dislike button to be a way of expressing “empathy”, which could be true in some cases, but with how crazy most social media sites have become there is bound to be some kind of abuse.

What are your thoughts, classmates and professors? Do you like or dislike the inevitable arrival of this dislike button? Will it work as intended or will it get carried away?

5 thoughts on “Facebook’s New Dislike Button? Dislike.

  1. The dislike button will allow users to really think about what they post before they post it. I know for myself that I wouldn’t want any negative feedback on my social media page, especially Facebook where I have close friends and family. I think it’s a new way for Facebook to survey its content and filter the users on their site.

    Like

  2. Because it is easy to post negative thoughts on Facebook, I think that is why it has taken so long for Facebook to actually create a dislike button. I am sure it was an idea in the beginning, but it may not have set well in Zuckerberg’s mind when appealing to an audience that is very judgmental themselves. I think now, since so many people are demanding the dislike button, Facebook has decided to add it. But, I don’t think that the dislike button will change much only because people were able to actually write out and comment on a post either their negative or positive thoughts, even before the dislike button.

    Like

  3. Unfortunately I would like to have a dislike button, due to the fact that it helps to display your opinion in a way. At the same time I feel like it doesn’t work to share your thoughts because of the multiple different ideas and interpretations others may think of someone using this “dislike” button. I feel like it will eventually cause problems and miscommunication all over social media, even though others may disagree with me and put a “dislike” on this comment. Although, maybe the dislike button will help to distribute the amount of communication we need towards some people in a way where we don’t have to actually tell the person how we feel.

    Like

  4. I have often thought a “dislike” button would be useful for a expressing an emotion about the content, because it’s just weird to click “like” if people are posting negative news such as loss of a job or death of a pet. It would be nice to have a one-click way of acknowledging entries such as that without having to say you “like” them. But I think Justin is onto something when he says it could lead to miscommunication if “I dislike” gets interpreted as “I disagree.”

    Like

  5. It seems like this should be called an “empathize” button. That doesn’t have the same ring to it like “dislike” does. I think this feature will most likely be abused. I can see someone disliking an ironic statement like, ” I ran out of Doritos today. A lot of saddening news does seem to be hitting social media these days. I’m sure people will be more inclined to share saddening news now that dislikes are counted and they know they have a understanding audience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

